Wayland Drew

Place of Birth
Date of Birth
Date of Death
Durham Region Background

Wayland Drew (1932-1998) was born in Oshawa, Ontario. He received his B.A. in English Language and Literature in 1957 from Victoria College at the University of Toronto. In October 1957 he married Gwendolyn Parrott. They had four children, Scott, Marda, Paula, and Cindy. Wayland began his teaching career in 1961, working at high schools in Port Perry, and in Bracebridge and Muskoka Lakes. He also worked for the Ontario Ministry of Education before retiring in 1994. Many of his novels, including his most famous "The Wabeno Feast" (1973) depict the Canadian environment.

  • High School Teacher
  • B.A. in English (Victoria College, University of Toronto, 1957)
Honours and Awards
  • Lieutenant-Governor's Award from the Conservation Council of Ontario (1991)
  • Honorary Doctor of Letters degree from Trent University (1991)

Canadian Environment Fiction:

  • The Wabeno Feast (Anansi, 1973; General Paperbacks, 1985; House of Anansi Press, 2001)
  • Halfway Man (Oberon Press, 1989)

Canadian Environment Nonfiction:

  • The Nature of Mammals (Natural Science of Canada, 1974, 1975)
  • The Nature of Fish (Natural Science of Canada, 1974, 1975)
  • Superior : The haunted shore, with photographer Bruce M. Litteljohn (Gage, 1975; Macmillan of Canada, 1983; Beaufort Books, 1983; Firefly Books, 1995)
  • Browns' Weir, with Gwendolyn Drew (Oberon Press, 1983)
  • A sea within : The Gulf of St. Lawrence, with photographer Bruce M. Litteljohn (McClelland & Stewart, 1984)

Romance; Humorous Fiction:

  • Corvette Summer (New American Library of Canada, 1978)


  • Dragonslayer (Ballantine Book, 1981, 1985; Fontana/Collins, 1982)
  • Willow (Ballantine Books, 1988)

Science Fiction:

  • The Memoirs of Alcheringia: Part one of the Erthring Cycle (Ballantine, 1984)
  • The Gaian Expedient: Part two of the Erthring Cycle (Ballantine, 1985)
  • The Master of Norriya: Part three of the Erthring Cycle (Ballantine Books, 1986)
  • The Erthring Cycle (Nelson Doubleday, 1986)
  • Batteries not included (Berkley Books, 1987)