Timothy Findley

Place of Birth
Date of Birth
Date of Death
Home Community
Durham Region Background

Timothy Findley lived at Stone Orchard, a farm near Cannington, for approximately thirty years.

  • Novelist
  • Playwright
  • St. Andrew's College
Honours and Awards
  • Induction into Canadian Walk of Fame (2002)
  • In 2002 the Writer’s Trust of Canada named an award after him (for male fiction writers in mid-career).
  • Governor General's Award for English language drama for Elizabeth Rex (2000)
  • Floyd S. Chalmers Award for The stillborn lover (1996)
  • Chevalier de l'Ordre des arts et des lettres (1996)
  • CAA Award for Drama (1994)
  • Order of Ontario (1991)
  • CAA Award for Non-fiction for Inside Memory (1991)
  • Edgar Award, Best Paperback Original for The telling of lies (1989)
  • Trillium Book Award for Stones (1988)
  • Officer of the Order of Canada (1985)
  • CAA Award for Fiction for Not Wanted on the Voyage (1985)
  • Governor General’s Award for Fiction for the wars (1977)
  • ACTRA Award (television, best documentary writer) for his adaptation, in collaboration with William Whitehead, of Pierre Berton's two-volume history of the building of the Canadian Pacific Railway, The National Dream (1975)
  • Armstrong Award (radio) for The journey (1971)

Psychological fiction:

  • Pilgrim (Harper Flamingo Canada, 1999)

Science Fiction:

  • The butterfly plague (Viking Press, 1969)

Historical Fiction:

  • The wars (Delacorte Press/Seymour Lawrence, 1977)
  • Famous last words, translated into French as Le grand elysium hôtel (Delacorte Press/Seymour Lawrence, 1981)
  • The piano man's daughter (Crown Publishers, 1995)
  • You went away (Harper Collins, 1996)


  • Not wanted on the voyage (Delacorte Press, 1984)


  • The telling of lies (Pebble Productions, 1986)


  • Headhunter (Harper Collins, 1993)

Realistic fiction:

  • Spadework (Harper Collins, 2001)

Short stories:

  • Dinner along the Amazon (Penguin, 1984)
  • Stones (Penguin Books, 1988)


  • Inside memory: Pages from a writer's workbook (Harper Collins, 1990)
  • From stone ochard: A collection of memories (Harper Flamingo Canada, 1998)


  • Can you see me yet? (1977)
  • The stillborn lover (Blizzard Publishing, 1993)
  • Elizabeth Rex (Harper Perennial Canada, 2000)
  • Shadows (2001)


  • Don't let the Angels fall (1969)
  • The newcomers 1832 (1978)
  • The wars (1981)